Foundation Leadership


The NASPGHAN Foundation is governed by a group of distinguished leaders in the field of pediatric gastroenterology. Our board of directors is composed of several members and officers from NASPGHAN and lay members. NASPGHAN members are chosen on the basis of their expertise and leadership in the science and practice of pediatric gastroenterology and their willingness to actively work with the NASPGHAN Foundation to raise funds for research and education.

Lay members are chosen on the basis of their commitments to children with digestive diseases and their ability to lend advice and fund raising expertise to the board.

The NASPGHAN Foundation also maintains an Advisory Board composed of physicians or lay members who assist us in promoting our research and education, as well as our fundraising efforts.

The NASPGHAN Foundation is organized exclusively for charitable, scientific, and educational purposes as defined in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and receives an annual audit.


Past President

John Barnard, MD


Barry Wershil, MD


Ann Scheimann, MD, MBA

Board of Directors

  • Carlo Di Lorenzo, MD
  • Leo Heitlinger, MD
  • James Heubi, MD
  • Jeannie Huang, MD
  • Nicola Jones, MD
  • Marjorie Merrick

Advisory Board

  • Robert Baldassano, MD
  • Amy Donegan
  • Alessio Fasano, MD
  • Glenn Furuta, MD
  • Ben Gold, MD
  • Rohit Kohli, MD
  • Karen Murray, MD
  • Maria Oliva Hemker, MD
  • Neha Santucci, MD
  • Miriam Vos, MD

The mission of the NASPGHAN Foundation is: To fund and promote research and educational programs that will advance the creation, application, and dissemination of knowledge.