2018 Grant Recipients

NASPGHAN Foundation/George Ferry Young Investigator Development Award

Sarah Taylor, MD - Ann & Robert H Lurie Children's Hospital, Chicago, IL
Macrophage Regulation of Immune Pathogenesis of Biliary Atresia

NASPGHAN Foundation/Nestlé Nutrition Research Young Investigator Development Award

Samir Softic, MD - Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, MA
Sugar Metabolism in Fatty Liver Disease

NASPGHAN Foundation Mid-Level Career Development Award

Ajay Gulati, MD – University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
Identifying Microbiota-Driven Pathways to Modulate Paneth Cell Function

NASPGHAN Foundation/AstraZeneca Research Award for Disorders of the Upper Gastrointestinal Tract

Bruno Chumpitazi, MD – Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston, TX
Advancing Nutritional Science for Children with Functional Dyspepsia

NASPGHAN Foundation/APGNN Susan Moyer Nursing Research Award

Kerri Fournier, BSN – Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA
Administration Delivery Practices and Characteristics of Pediatric/Young Adult Gastroenterology Patients Receiving Infliximab Infusion Therapy in an Ambulatory Infusion Clinic

NASPGHAN Foundation Fellow to Faculty Transition Award in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases 

Hongtao (Alex) Wang, MD, PhD – Texas Children’s Hospital, Houston, TX
Targeting Epithelial Steroidogenesis to Treat Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Crohn's & Colitis Foundation/NASPGHAN IBD Young Investigator Award

Jon Hubbard, MD, PhD - Boston Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA
Mechanisms of FcRn-Mediated Immune Regulation

NASPGHAN Foundation Innovations in Clinical Care Grant

Jacob Robson, MD – University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
Side-Opening Biopsy Forceps to Improve Subepithelial Tissue Yield and Assessment of Esophageal Fibrosis in Children with Eosinophilic Esophagitis

Debora Duro, MD, MS – Broward Health, Chris Evert Hospital, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
The Influence of Exercise on Body Composition and Patient Outcomes in a Pediatric Multidisciplinary Obesity Clinic

NASPGHAN Foundation/Abbott Nutrition Advanced Fellowship Training in Pediatric Nutrition

Bridget Dowd, MD – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
A Placebo Controlled Exploratory Study to Identify Biomarkers in Food Tolerance

Special Recognition Awards


Dennis D. Black, MD -- University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, TN
Results of the WUPPSC Study: Prospective Multicenter Withdrawal of Ursodeoxycholic Acid in Pediatric Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis (PSC)

NASPGHAN Foundation Grand Watkins Prize 

Diana Montoya Melo, MD -- University of Texas Southwestern, Dallas, TX
EoE Esophageal Epithelial Cells Induce TH2 Polarizing Dendritic Cells

NASPGHAN Foundation Teri Li Young Educator Award

Diana Lerner, MD – Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI