2017 Grant Recipients

NASPGHAN Foundation George Ferry Young Investigator Development Award

Valentina Shakhnovich, MD – Children’s Mercy Hospital, Kansas City, MO
Impact of obesity in changes in physiology and systemic drug exposure to proton pump inhibitors

NASPGHAN Foundation/Nestlé Nutrition Research Young Investigator Development Award

Nina Gluchowski, MD – Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA
The functions of initial and expanding lipid droplets in NAFLD

NASPGHAN Foundation Mid-Level Career Development Award

(Supported by a grant from Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.)

Nitika Gupta, MBBS, DCH, DNB, MRCP – Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA
TNF signaling in steatotic liver injury

NASPGHAN Foundation/Takeda Pharmaceutical U.S.A., Inc. Research Innovation Award

Cara Mack, MD – Children’s Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
Regulatory T cell dysfunction in biliary atresia

NASPGHAN Foundation Fellow to Faculty Transition Award in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases

(Supported by a grant from AbbVie, Inc.)

Amanda Riccuto, MD – The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Pediatric PSC-IBD: Elucidating the phenotype, optimizing monitoring strategies and validating novel endoscopic tools

NASPGHAN Foundation/APGNN Susan Moyer Nursing Research Award

Whitney Gray, MSN, CRNP – Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Impact of a nurse practitioner led teaching program on patient and caregiver knowledge on pediatric IBD

NASPGHAN Foundation Innovations in Clinical Care Grant

Amer Al-Nimr, MD – Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH
Creating animated nutrition educational video resources on GIKids.org

Alex Koral, MD – Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, CT
Unsedated transnasal endoscopy, in monitoring of eosinophilic esophagitis and diagnosis of Helicobacter pylori

NASPGHAN Foundation/Abbott Nutrition Advanced Fellowship Training in Pediatric Nutrition

Hillary Bashaw, MD – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Comparison of multiple indices of fat and energy absorption in people with chronic pancreatitis with a health comparison group

Special Recognition Awards

William Balistreri Prize

Katja Kovacic, MD – Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI
Neurostimulation for functional abdominal pain disorders in Children: A randomized, double blind, sham-controlled trial

Richard J. Grand and John B. Watkins Prize

Mark Deneau, MD – University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
Improvement in GGT predicts event-free survival in primary sclerosing cholangitis regardless of ursodeoxycholic acid treatment: Data from the Pediatric PSC Consortium

Gerard Odell Prize

Samar Ibrahim, MBChB – Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Mixed lineage kinase 3 inhibition attenuates murine nonalcoholic steatohepatitis