2016 Grant Recipients

NASPGHAN Foundation/AstraZeneca Research Award for Disorders of the Upper GI Tract

Nicola Jones, MD, PhD – Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON
Novel, Non-antibiotic, Mechanism-based Therapy to Treat Helicobacter Pylori Infections

NASPGHAN/NASPGHAN Foundation George Ferry Young Investigator Development Award

Akihiro Asai, MD, PhD – Cincinnati Children's Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH
Engineering Human Liver Organoids for Modeling of Inherited Cholestasis

NASPGHAN Foundation/Nestlé Nutrition Research Young Investigator Development Award

Samar Ibrahim, MBChB – Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
Lipotoxicity and Hepatic Inflammation

NASPGHAN Foundation/Mid-Level Career Development Award

Edwin de Zoeten, MD, PhD – Children's Hospital Colorado, Aurora, CO
The Impact of the Unfolded Protein Response on Regulatory Cells

NASPGHAN Foundation/Fellow to Faculty Transition Award in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases

Ross Maltz, MD – Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus, OH
The Effect of Social Stressors on Inflammation in a Murine Model of Colitis

NASPGHAN Foundation/Abbott Nutrition Advanced Fellowship Training in Pediatric Nutrition

Nina Sainath, MD – Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Use of Pancreatic Enzymes in Short Bowel Syndrome

NASPGHAN Foundation/APGNN/Susan Moyer Nursing Research Grant

JoAnne Newton, RN - Children's Hospital of Colorado, Aurora, CO
Reducing Complications Related To Eosinophilic Esophagitis Through Nursing Education

Kim Osborne, MSN - Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus, OH
Laxative Treatment for Pediatric Constipation: A Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Stimulant Laxatives Alone

Fiona Paul, DNP, NP - Children's Hospital Boston
Impact of Transanal Irrigations on Quality of Life in Pediatric Patients with Organic Defecatory Disorders

Special Recognition Awards

William Balistreri Prize

Joanne Masterson, PhD – University of Colorado Denver, Aurora, CO
Epithelial Barrier Function in Eosinophilic Esophagitis is Regulated by a HIF-1a- Claudin-1 Axis

Gerard Odell Prize

Sarah Taylor, MD – Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago, Chicago, IL
Gestational Alloimmune Liver Disease: Fate of Untreated Pregnancy in 152 Women and Outcome of Affected Infants

Richard J. Grand and John B. Watkins Prize

Ivan Fuss, MD – National Institutes of Health, Washington, DC
The Role of a Novel IL-10 Producing Regulatory T Cell (TR2) in Immune Homeostasis

Teri Li Award

Bram Raphael, MD - Children's Hospital Boston
Aliza Solomon, DO - New York Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medicine