The Shwachman award is given by NASPGHAN to a person who has made major, lifelong scientific or educational contributions to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology or nutrition in North America.  The award is designed to preferentially honor a member of NASPGHAN for outstanding achievements in the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition. This prestigious award is presented at the NASPGHAN Annual Meeting.

Eligibility:  Nominees for the Shwachman award will be judged on the basis of major lifelong scientific or educational contributions to the field.  The Shwachman award is distinguished from the Davidson award given by the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Gastroenterology and Nutrition in that the Davidson Award is designed to honor a master clinician and/or educator.  The additional criteria for Shwachman nominees are a record of advocacy for child digestive diseases, outstanding administrative service to the field and lifelong scientific or educational contributions to our discipline.  While service to NASPGHAN will be positively regarded, service to NASPGHAN is not an a priori requirement of the Shwachman award.  

1987 – Claude C. Roy, MD

1988 – Arnold Silverman, MD

1989 – Murray Davidson, MD

1990 – J. Richard Hamilton, MD

1991 – Otakar Koldovsky, MD, PhD

1992 – Samuel Foman, MD

1993 – Richard J. Grand, MD

1994 – Gerard B. Odell, MD

1995 – W. Allan Walker, MD

1996 – Joyce Gryboski, MD

1997 – John B. Watkins, MD

1998 – Marvin Ament, MD 

1999 – William Balistreri, MD 

2000 - William Klish, MD

2001 – Jon Vanderhoof, MD

2002 – Buford Nichols, MD

2003 – Peter Durie, MD

2004 – Fayez Ghishan, MD

2005 – Frederick Suchy, MD

2006 – Judith Sondheimer, MD

2007 – Emanuel Lebenthal, MD

2008 – Michael Thaler, MD

2009 – Ronald J. Sokol, MD

2010 – Philip M Sherman, MD

2011 – David Perlmutter, MD

2012 – Alessio Fasano, MD

2013 – Mitchell Cohen, MD

2014 – Peter Whitington, MD

2015 – D. Brent Polk, MD

2016 - Wayne Lencer, MD

2017 - Kathleen B. Schwarz, MD

2018 - John A. Barnard, MD

NASPGHAN Distinguished Service Award  

Distinguished Service Awards are presented to members of NASPGHAN in recognition of excellence and service to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition by achieving national and/or international recognition in the field.  Both physicians and non-physicians are eligible for this award.  This award will is presented at the NASPGHAN Annual Meeting each year. 

Eligibility:  Distinguished Service Awards normally will be granted to individuals who have reached at least 60 years of age and made major contributions to child health in the fields of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology or nutrition.  Awardees should not be members of the NASPGHAN Awards Committee, councilors or officers at the time of selection. 

Past Recipients:

2003 – Joseph Fitzgerald, MD

2004 – James Keating, MD

2005 – Kathleen Schwarz, MD

2006 – Harvey Sharp, MD

2007 – Susan Henning, PhD

2008 – Richard B. Colletti, MD

2009 – Fredric Daum, MD

2010 – Harland Winter, MD

2011 – Ivor Hill, MD

2012 – Alan Leichtner, MD

2013 – John Udall, MD

2014 – Melvin Heyman, MD

2015 – Kathleen Motil, MD, PhD

2016 - David Gremse, MD

2017 - Eric Sibley, MD, PhD

2018 - Michael R. Narkewicz, MD