NASPGHAN is governed by a ten-member Executive Council selected by the membership for their expertise and leadership in the science and practice of pediatric gastroenterology and nutrition. The Executive Council determines policy; ensures that the organization has the necessary resources available to fulfill its mission; gives direction to the acquisition and disposition of resources; provides effective stewardship of resources; and strengthens the relevancy of NASPGHAN, serving as ambassadors of the organization and participating in community networks.

Executive Council

Past President

Athos Bousvaros, MD
Children's Hospital, IBD Center
GI Hunnewell Ground
300 Longwood Ave
Boston, MA 02115


Carlo Di Lorenzo, MD
Nationwide Children's Hospital
700 Children's Drive
Columbus, OH


James Heubi, MD
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
3333 Burnet Ave
Cincinnati, OH 45229


Michael Narkewicz, MD
Children's Hospital of Colorado
13123 East 16th Avenue
Aurora, CO 80045 


Valeria Cohran, MD (18)

Sandeep Gupta, MD (18)

Binita Kamath, MD, MBBChir, MRCP ('17)

Alfredo Larossa Haro, MD ('16)

Chris Liacouras, MD ('17)

Kara Gross Margolis, MD ('16)

Norberto Rodriguez Baez, MD ('16)

NASPGHAN Committees

NASPGHAN’s success is dependent upon the diversity of its elected and appointed members' voluntary contributions and involvement. Committees support the work of NASPGHAN by facilitating programs, implementing new initiatives and exploring ways in which the society can better meet the needs of professionals and patients, thereby enhancing patient care.